Indigenous Scholarships

Our First Nations Tertiary Scholarships program provides financial support to students from disadvantaged backgrounds. This program works to address systemic barriers to education by increasing access to tertiary studies for Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander students. This helps to ensure that Scholarship recipients can achieve a better quality of life for themselves, their families and their communities.

Mary MacKillop believed in the power of education to transform lives. In her legacy the Sisters of Saint Joseph have continued to empower individuals and communities by providing access to education. Since 1998 these tertiary scholarships for the First Nation Peoples of the lands in which we live have addressed the financial barriers faced by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students and supported them to access and achieve their academic goals.


  • The Mary MacKillop Today First Nations Tertiary Scholarship includes:
    • $5,000 per year towards living expenses* associated with tertiary study for the duration of their course (in two yearly payments of $2,500).

*Living expenses include rent, electricity, utilities, stationery, books and IT costs. The amount of $5000 per year is based on full time enrolment in tertiary study. The number of scholarships awarded each year is variable.

For more information, contact us at [email protected] or call (02) 8912 2777.

With thanks to our major partners The Sisters of Perpetual Adoration & Good Shepherd Australia New Zealand.